Where You Are

Found this little piece I must have written in early 2017, when I was browsing through my laptop today. I like when I read back over things I wrote a while ago. It’s a reminder of where I was, what I was dealing with and how God showed up. Here goes.

Where you are right now is a really good place for God to use you. It’s a good place to be. I’ve learnt recently that the only version of me that I have to work with is me today, right now. I can’t wait for me to be perfect and for all my problems to be solved. I can not wait for me to feel like I’m ready, because I don’t think that I ever will be. But God tells us that his power is sufficient in our weakness. In fact in 2 Corinthians 12:7-9, Paul is actually glad to boast about His weakness. He’s asked God to remove this thorn in his side, but listen to God’s response. ‘So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.’ And he goes on in verse 10 ‘That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions , and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.’ What a man.

2016 has been a year where I’ve learnt a lot. I’ve been grown and stretched. One of the things that my focus has been on is how God will use the weak things, if the weak things are willing to be used. It brings glory to Him in fact. 1 Corinthians 1:27-29 tells us ‘Instead God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful. God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and then used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important. As a result, no one can ever boast in the presence of God.’

This year, you don’t need to wait for yourself to be perfect, you don’t need to wait for your new years resolutions to be achieved. You don’t need to wait, to spend time with God, to realise and to revel in His love for you. You don’t need to wait until you are older or more mature to experience His hand at work in your life, because at this very moment where you currently are, there is a way that He can use you uniquely and significantly, whether or not you believe that or see that. Each one of us is gifted, talented, crafted by a master-craftsman. Made with love. By God.

One of the biggest things I learnt in 2016, was a lesson on Gods’ love. I learnt that He loves EVERY single piece of me. He loves the things I show Him and the things I try to hide. He loves the ugly and the beautiful. He loves the bits of me that I don’t yet love. And not only does He love me completely, He IS love. (I won’t pretend that I completely understand that but it says it in His word.) He IS love. He loves me and he loves you.

Leave a Reply

