Sunny Days

This poem is a fun description of my evening cycle through the town on a sunny day. Describing the scene helps me to savour and cherish sweet moments like these care-free wanderings.

 

Sunny Days

By Laura Craig

Sunny days, cycling through the town,

The mighty but gentle breath of wind,

Blown out of the mouth of a giant perhaps,

Cascading under my arms, through my hair,

Making light of any negative thoughts

That would care to take residence in my mind.

 

Sunny days, cycling through the town,

The baby blue sky basking in the evening sun,

The warmth of the rays of heat,

Generating life within my bones,

Excitement within my heart,

Adventure within my soul.

 

Sunny days, cycling through the town,

My slightly shallow breathing

And mildly aching legs a sign of the happy weariness

That comes with easy exercise,

My gleeful eyes darting here and there,

Drinking in the surrounding nature,

Drinking in the glorious sun.

 

I will remember this day I hope,

This early summer delight.

The green trees and grass do my soul good.

Nature, my love, always has a way of calming me down,

Easing my angst,

Cleaning my brain.

 

Sunny days are my favourite,

Sunny days, cycling though the town

Leave a Reply

