Canvas, I am.

This short portrayal of myself as different canvases allows a look into the diverse and sometimes confusing mind of a teenage girl.

There are so many different ways in which I could have described the different elements at play in me, but a canvas is so artistic, a work in progress.

Here goes…..

Canvas, I am.

By Laura Craig

A clean blank canvas. That is an element of me.

A canvas, ruptured, painted black, torn. That is an element of me.

A greyish, dull canvas, stretched under the weight of various things: expectations, worries, hopes, dreams, aspirations, relationships, exams.. That is an element of me.

A canvas, splattered with brightly coloured paint splotches. It stands out from the rest. That is an element of me.

I am a variety of canvases, but I am one person?

Leave a Reply

